top of page


Yoga means union, integration, harmony. Its ultimate goal is to live a life that is permeated with health, peace, happiness, meaning, and loving-kindness.

This goal is attained when we discover for ourselves the Spirit, Source, or Essence that lies within each of us - the spark of Divinity within. The pathways to experience this Essence are known as Sanatana Dharma, literally, the Eternal Truth – later to be called Hinduism.

The teachings, practices, and lifestyle of the Yoga Life Society are derived from core principles of Sanatana Dharma, specifically the teachings of Yoga. The Science of Yoga is over 5,000 years old and consists of six major branches:

                             Jnana Yoga: study of sacred wisdom and self-reflection

                             Bhakti Yoga: worship or dedication to any name and form of the Divine

                             Karma Yoga: selfless service

                             Raja Yoga: meditation, science of the mind, moral and ethical precepts

                             Japa Yoga: repetition or chanting of mantras or the names the Divine

                             Hatha Yoga: physical postures, breathing techniques, deep relaxation


The branches of Yoga represent a holistic approach to spiritual life and they bring about a complete and harmonious development of the individual, strengthening and balancing the mental, emotional intellectual, and socially active facets of life. Each individual, according to her or his inclination and temperament, determines the specific combination of practices engaged in.


The Universal Spirit of Yoga

Sanatana Dharma recognizes the common aspiration of all human beings to find health, peace, happiness, and meaning in life. It also recognizes that all faith traditions hold unique and valuable views of this same Truth and practices that help in its realization. We revere and learn from all faith traditions while remaining rooted in our own unique path.

bottom of page